LOCAL EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE

NEWMAN

TERMS OF REFERENCE

(Adopted 24 February 2023)

Name	Local Emergency Management Committee – Newman				
Definitions	CEO means Chief Executive Officer of the Shire of East Pilbara				
Deminions	Committee means the Local Emergency Management Committee - Newman				
	Shire means the Shire of East Pilbara				
	The LG Act means the Local Government Act 1995				
Purpose	To advise and assist Council in meeting its obligations under the <i>Emergency</i>				
i dipose	Management Act 2005.				
Functions	To advise and assist Council in establishing local emergency management				
Tunctions	arrangements for Newman;				
	2. To liaise with public authorities and other persons in the developmen				
	review and testing of the local emergency management arrangements for				
	Newman; and				
	3. To carry out other emergency management activities as directed by the State				
	Emergency Management Committee or prescribed regulations.				
Membership	The Committee shall consist of the following representatives:				
	a. One (1) Councillor appointed by an absolute majority of the Councillor				
	[s.5.10(a)(1) of the LG Act].				
	b. The Chief Executive Officer of the Shire of East Pilbara or their nominee				
	c. Employees of the Shire as nominated by the Chief Executive Officer from				
	time to time [s.5.10(5)(b) of the LG Act].				
	d. The Council may appoint by an absolute majority up to one Councillors to be deputy members of the Committee. A deputy memle may perform the functions of the member when the member is una to do so by reason of illness, absence or other cause. A deputy of member, while acting as a member, has all the function of and all the protection given to a member [ss.5.11A(2)(a),(3)&(4) of the LG Act].				
	e. The following organisations may appoint one (1) representative as a voting member of the Committee:				
	 i. WA Police ii. Department of Fire & Emergency Services iii. Newman VFRS iv. Newman SES v. St Johns Ambulance f. The following organisations may appoint one (1) representative as a nonvoting member of the Committee: i. Department of Defence ii. Sonic Health Plus Newman iii. Department of Parks & Wildlife iv. East Pilbara Independence Support (EPIS) 				
	v. WA Country Health Service				

- vi. Department of Communities
- vii. Newman Senior High School
- viii. Main Roads WA
- ix. Air Services Australia
- x. Puntukurnu Aboriginal Medical Services (PAMS)
- xi. Fortescue Metals Group
- xii. BHP Billiton
- xiii. Rio Tinto
- xiv. Water Corporation
- xv. Roy Hill
- xvi. Fortescue Helicopters
- xvii. Kanyirninpa Jukurrpa
- g. Committee membership continues until whichever the first of the following circumstances arise:
 - i. the term, as set by Council of the person's appointment as a committee member expires; or
 - ii. Council removes the member from office or the office of committee member otherwise becomes vacant; or
 - iii. the committee is disbanded; or
 - iv. the next ordinary elections day [s.5.11(2)].
- h. Members must comply with the *Shire of East Pilbara Code of Conduct for Council Members, Committee Members and Candidates.*
- i. The Committee has authority to second individuals from outside of the Committee, on a voluntary basis, for their expert advice.

Operating Procedures

- 1. Presiding Member:
 - a. The appointed Councillor will be the Presiding Member of the Committee and will preside at all meetings.
 - b. In the absence of the Presiding Member, the CEO will appoint a person to preside for the duration of the Presiding Member's absence.
 - c. The Presiding Member is responsible for the proper conduct of the Committee in accordance with the *Shire of East Pilbara Meeting Procedures Local Law 2019* and the Code of Conduct for Council Members, Committee Members and Candidates.
- 2. Meetings:
 - a. The Committee shall meet as required, but must hold a minimum of four (4) meetings per calendar year.
 - b. Additional meetings can be scheduled by decision of the Council or the Committee, or at the request of the President, the Presiding Member of the Committee or any two (2) members of the Committee [cl.3.4 Shire of East Pilbara Meeting Procedures Local Law 2019].
 - c. A Notice of Meeting, including an Agenda, will be circulated to the Committee Members (including deputy member) at least 72 hours prior to each meeting.
 - d. The CEO shall ensure that detailed minutes of all meetings are kept and shall provide the Committee members (including any deputy member) with a copy of such minutes.

	3. Quorum:				
	The quorum of a meeting shall be at least 50% of the number of voting members.				
	4. Reporting:				
	a. The Minutes of every Committee meeting will be circulated for the information of all Committee Members and Councillors.				
	b. Any Committee resolution or recommendation requiring consideration by Council will be reported to Council as soon as practicable.				
	c. The Committee's Terms of Reference will be published on the Shire's website.				
Appointing	The Committee is established under section 38 of the Emergency Management				
Legislation	Act 2005 and governed by the Local Government Act 1995.				
Delegated	The Committee is an advisory committee appointed by and reports to Council.				
Authority	The Committee provides appropriate advice and recommendations to the				
	Council on matters relevant to its Terms of Reference. This is in order to				
	facilitate informed decision making by the Council in relation to legislative				
	functions and duties of the local government that have not been delegated to the CEO.				

References:	Nil		
Authorised by:	Council		
Date:	24 February 2023	Item No.	11.1.3
Review/Amendment Date		Item No.	
Review/Amendment Date		Item No.	
Next Review	Following each ordinary local government election		
Responsible Directorate	Office of the Chief Exe	cutive Officer	
Responsible Officer	Manager Governance, Risk and Procurement		
File No.			